I was in a protest

So like yea…. It was surreal. I’ll 1st explain why protests were happening and then explain what was going on in my head. So, last month a young woman was killed in a karaoke bar in Gangnam. By a man who waited in the unisex bathroom of said place until a female entered to murder them. The controversy started to arise when it was known that this man had mental disabilities, and then people tried to shift the social conscience from one of gender issues to that of mental health concerns. Gender issues/ Gender inequalities have been a major problem here, but as always it’s said when there needs to be that “spark” to get the fire going. I being an outsider do not have a “true” leg in the argument. Although have enough understanding that by subverting the issue saying it’s something else is not right. I’m not a political blog, so I rather not dive deeper into this topic, but it you want to read more here’s a link or simply google “killing in Gangnam” and anything during May 2016 will most likely be about it.  This was not the 1st protest over the killing. About a week or two after there was a massive protest by people walking from the subway stop to the karaoke bar where it happened. Which was still actively open and people were still eating at the restaurants near it like nothing ever happened it felt weird. I didn’t go to the 1st one I was going when my girlfriend and her friends were planning out the route. They wore all black and carried around mirrors to metaphorically state it could have been us or via mirror any of you. As usual, they were met with negative comments and such but didn’t stop them. Fast word to yesterday I went, this time, to support my girlfriend cause she asked and that’s what I “should” do.  You know the Korean woman’s plight was all in Korean, So I do what I normally do and try and avoid looking bored as not to offend her I know it’s important to her, and it’s just important in general. To me, it felt like that religious friend you have that wants you to come to church, but you don’t have that high of interest, but don’t want to be disrespectful to your friend, that. Although you could hear the strength in each one of the speakers voices and the pride and the connectivity, the other protest members felt as listening to the speakers. The we got up and walked around Hongdae which is another bar and club heavy area of the city. Which goes back to why the situation was so surreal, we marched flags waving people shouting and me with my girlfriend in the front of our section i was just flabbergasted as I’m so out of place at least in my head. I look around saw the protest, legit photographers, onlookers with smartphones and more just watching us as we marched through. They had their battle cry and because I STILL DON’T KNOW KOREAN !!!!! just had this quirky smiles like how did I get into this mess, but seeing Hy and everyone else so dedicated to a cause for change. My face went from an awkward smile to being proud that I could be apart of this moment.

Here’s a Korean news article about the protest

Photos and Videos from yesterday

The image below roughly translates to “Men Can Do It Too”

IMG_20160606_153205

Leave a Reply

