Pride Parade

I guess you can say I have had very “political” last few days. Yesterday  (6/11)  I went to a Pride Parade other wise know here as Korea Queer Culture Festival. I was there cause my girlfriend HY was on one out of the floats in the parade. You’re probably asking why my Heterosexual Cis-Gendered Girlfriend was a part of the Pride Parade Floats? Well at her school they have an LGBT club, and although she’s not a member she is friends with most of the people in the organization and because she’s a big supporter and ally to them so she got to be on the float for her school’s club. I was there to give her support (as usual). Most of my campus friends were like your wasting your time, you don’t want to be there, and they were partially correct. It didn’t help when we got there it down-poured hard, but after the rain let up the festivities started up again  and then everyone was standing in one giant mass ready to start their march through Seoul. It was unbelievable! All the people, all the flags and when I was standing in the mass it felt like we were an army ready to go to war as one unit in support of a cause and against another… I am not the person to have to conversation about sexuality; my belief has always been a pretty lazy one, and that is love who you want as long as your not harming no one asterisk because people like to act smart and spiral it out with dumb counter arguments to that statement. Each year anti-pride people show up and like to hold their protest outside the venue as a way to tell the goers that their way of life is wrong and “Homosexuality is a sin.” Bright side there were way more of us then there were of them, so they had no power over the Pride Parade’s Unity. It was interesting because many of the anti-pride people were wearing traditional era clothing. I guess it’s their way of saying we need to turn back the clock to a point in life where Homosexuality was not seen. It was all types of weird the anti-people I mean there were even tents pitched outside the venue where people had church. I’m proud to know someone so supportive and active in the issues that surround their city. It has even sparked a little fire in me to think about things in my home country. I will say the major difference to me is how these protests and parades have been structured. I have never been to a protest or pride parade in the states so this is just guesswork, but the police force that was out of both things were massive especially for this because of the anti-pride folks. What I initially noticed is that many of the police force looked young, and there is a reason for that. It is mandatory for all Korean males between the ages for 20-30 to do 18 months to 2 years of military service. I believe as part of it, or something you can do instead (not entirely sure) is be a part of the police force. That’s why almost every step of the way there were police lining up and down the sidewalk keeping civilians and anit-pride people at a distance from the pride walkers in the streets.

Photos from the event

Yesterday Article on the event (should auto-translate)

Wikipedia article

 

 

Leave a Reply

